For Permits

Permitting Information

We are delighted that you want to film in Ventura County. All commercial filming or photography activity, including student projects, needs a permit. We have many jurisdictions that permit filming processes in order for you to begin production. Below you will find more information and the contact of each jurisdiction.

What are permitting figures?

Permitting jurisdictions, or figures, of Ventura County assure … There are 35 permitting figures which range from federal to local jurisdictions and it is required to contact them to determine if a permit is needed for your shoot. To determine which jurisdiction you may need to contact please consider the who, what, where, when and how of your shot. This will answer which jurisdictions you may need to contact depending on your answers. Below is a GIS map designed to help you determine this. If you have anymore questions, do not hesitate to contact the VCFC film liaison.

Below this map is a list of cities and jurisdictions. If you need further assistance either finding a location, or pinpointing your location’s jurisdiction please see the most current.

Permitting Jurisdiction Contact

Jurisdiction: Contact: Email:Phone: Fees:
Unincorporate County of VenturaJerylin Hollis film.permits@ventura.org(805) 654-2457Fees
City of CamarilloJanessa GutierrezPlanning@cityofcamarillo.org(805) 388-5360Fees
City of FillmorePatrick Maynardpmaynard@fillmoreca.gov (805) 524-1500 ext. 227Fees
City of MoorparkPhilip Neumann pneumann@moorparkca.gov(805) 517-6230Fees
City of Ojaii Andrea Mackey amackey@ojaicity.org(805) 646-5581 ext 101Fees
City of OxnardMaris SantanaMaria.Santana@oxnard.org(805) 385-7407
City of Port HuenemeCharles GableCCable@cityofporthueneme.org(805) 986-6658Fees
City of Santa PaulaBeverly Ruizbruiz@spcity.org (805) 933-4226 Ext. 351Fees
City of Simi ValleyHeidi DiNardoHDiNardo@simivalley.org(805) 583-6380Fees
City of Thousand OaksStephen BarraganSBarragan@toaks.org(805) 449-2338Fees
City of VenturaAllyson DesBailletsadesbaillets@cityofventura.ca.gov(805) 654-7749Fees
State Film Commission
filmca@film.ca.gov(323)860-2960
Seaside Park Ventura Fairgrounds James Lockwoodjlockwood@venturacountyfair.org805) 684-3376
Ventura HarborJennifer Talt Lundinjtaltlundin@venturaharbor.com(805) 642-8538
Conejo Recreation and Park DistrictMatt Kouba parksupt@crpd.org(805) 495-6471
MOUNTAINS RECREATION & CONSERVATION AUTHORITY (MRCA)Jewel Johnsonjewel.johnson@mrca.ca.gov(310) 858-7272 ext 139
Public Works
Rancho Simi Recreation and Park DistrictNikki Davynikki@rsrpd.us(805) 584-4415